Shelley and the Security Robot (part 1)

“Bob, I have to cut costs – I simply cannot afford to have a security officer on duty full time.

Shelley, the client does not look happy about having to tell Bob that the costs must be cut.

A painful discussion with a client – until Bob brings up the topic of security robots.

Bob looked across the desk at Shelley, his long time client. He started to marshal the arguments about the value, how security is not a cost, the need for safety. Shelley continued, “I know your officers do a great job, and I agree with the arguments about investments versus costs, but I simply have to cut the budget.  What can you offer me that is cheaper?”

Bob asked – “Shelley, is it about the money, or is there some problem with the team?  We can bring other…” Shelley interrupted “No Bob, we love your people – they are focused; they’re attentive; they do a great job! Frankly, I wish I could hire more people like your officers. But I have to cut the budget.”

“Okay, how much are we talking about? Maybe we can reduce the hours, or cut out some of the weekend coverage? It wouldn’t be ideal, but it would cut costs some.”

“Bob, I have to cut the budget a lot – I don’t think trimming a few hours here or there is going to make it. What else can you offer me?”

“Well, the next step down is a drive by every couple of hours – we have well equipped cars and they do a complete perimeter sweep, and can typically respond in under 10 minutes.”

“Bob, we talked about that last year,” Shelley replied, “I don’t think that will work – we have an adjoining wall, with Acme, which you can’t see from outside. I have nightmares about that break in last month where the thief cut through the common wall. I have millions of dollars of cutting-edge high-tech electronics in the warehouse.”

“Shelley, I have an idea – you have high-tech products, right?  And you built up a cutting-edge 21st century technology business right?”

“Yeah! I like to think our company defines the envelope of high technology.”

Robot patrolling a receiving dock, looking for intruders and monitoring changing temperatures.

Robot patrolling a receiving dock, looking for intruders and monitoring changing temperatures.

“Shelley, what about a robot? An autonomous, mobile, security robot to do the night shift patrols?  It will patrol, check for fire, smoke, intruders, movement, water – what ever you need.”

“Bob, get serious – this isn’t a science fiction movie”

“No Shelley, it’s not – but it is the 21st century! We have deployed tested, commercially available security robots for situations just like yours. The robots act as mobile security, doing patrols just like our officers, and when they detect a problem they send an alert to our mobile supervisors who can respond within minutes.”

“Okay, maybe these robots exist – but I’m trying to cut costs not spend a million dollars on a robot.”

“Shelley, you are going to love this – I can put one to work in the plant for under half what your current security officers cost.”

“Bob, this is starting to sound good – better than good, it sounds cool! Tell me how this would work….”

Continued in part 2: “What do you mean by a ‘Security Robot’?”:

Where is your robot?™ Ours are cutting costs and improving security

Learn more at Gamma 2 Robotic

, , , ,

  1. Shelley and the Security Robot (part 2) | whereismyrobot
  2. Security Robots and the Stock Market | whereismyrobot

Leave a Reply

